520 Virginia Drive, Fort Washington, PA 19034 | Tel: 215-628-8744

Today′s Hours

A Different Sort of Detective

51-PYn4RHtL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_If you like delving deep into dark detective novels (alliteration unintended) Still Waters by Nigel McCrery is for you. British, Deputy Chief Inspector Mark Lapslie is pulled off medical leave to work on a most surprising case. A middle aged female sociopath is methodically murdering old, lonely women and Lapslie is hot on her trail or taste! He suffers from synesthesia – he tastes sounds. The author cleverly shows how this neurological condition is both a help and hindrance in Lapslie’s life and work. The story is intricately woven between alternating chapters of the investigation and the mind of the clearly disturbed51gkcGdGkzL murder. This is a brilliantly written murder mystery in the vein of Minette Walters and Tana French (also two of my favorites). The remaining books in the series are just as good – Tooth and Claw (2009) & Scream (2010). This series is not for the faint of heart. Police procedural mixed with psychological thriller and an added pinch of this extraordinary neurological condition make them a fascinating read!